Domestic Cricket

The domestic structure had always been truly provincial, with Mashonaland, Matabeleland, Midlands and Manicaland battling it out for the various championships. That was until the 2006-07 season, where the domestic competition had been completely restructured. While a provincial structure still exists to a degree, the names have been changed to reflect a more general geographical location: Northerns, Southerns, Easterns, Westerns and Centrals.

For many of the provinces, players need to be imported from Harare to give the teams additional strength. Northerns (mainly Harare players) and Westerns (mainly Bulawayo players) are the only provinces that do not need to do this.

The 2005-06 Faithwear series involving Mashonaland, Matabeleland, Midlands, Manicaland and Masvingo was the final season to be played using the traditional provincial structure.


Metropolitan Bank Twenty20 (Mar 07 - April 07)
Faithwear Inter-Provincial One Day Series (Mar 07)
Logan Cup (Apr 07 - May 07)


National League (Nov 07 - Jan 08)
Metropolitan Bank Twenty20 (Mar 08)
Logan Cup (Apr 08 - May 08)
Faithwear Inter-Provincial One Day Series (May 08 - Jun 08)


Faithwear Inter-Provincial One Day Series (Feb 09 - Mar 09)
Logan Cup (Mar 09 - May 09)
Metropolitan Bank Twenty20 (May 09)