Faithwear One Day Series

May 27, 2008 - June 2, 2008

Champions: Easterns
Runner-up: Centrals

The Faithwear series ran successfully after many delays which saw the series postponed several months. Unfortunately, the quality of cricket was not all that high, with teams still struggling to score well.

For the second year running, Zimbabwe Cricket would have been disappointed that the average score in these 50 over matches was just over 140.

The only decent scores of the series came from Centrals and Easterns. Centrals scored 6/237 in their loss to Easterns, with Easterns scoring 2/197, thinks to Timycen Maruma's 83, from 31 overs due to Duckworth-Lewis.

Easterns also brought their A game to the "final". The final match of the series was between Northerns and Easterns, who both on equal number of wins, were essentially playing for the title. Easterns scored 9/249, the highest total of the series, which was too much for Northerns who struggled, scoring just 157.


Northerns, Southerns, Easterns, Westerns, Centrals

Star Players

Chamu Chibhabha

After a quiet Logan Cup, Chibhabha gave his List A average a boost after scoring 140 runs at 46.66 during the Faithwear series. He top scored with an unbeaten 80.

Keegan Meth

On his domestic cricket debut - despite playing for Zimbabwe in 5 ODI's, and Zimbabwe A in countless more matches - Meth made an immediate impact as a right arm medium pace bowler. One of the few bright lights for the Westerns this season, his 8 scalps came at just over 7 runs each, at the remarkable economy of 2.14.

Shingirai Masakadza

Equal leading wicket taker with Graeme Cremer, who with an economy of 4.25 was perhaps a little too expensive to be considered a star player. 9 wickets at 11.22 and an economy of 2.88 meant the younger Masakadza has risen to be one of Zimbabwe's most influential domestic players.


Brendan Taylor and Elton Chigumbura were two notable omissions from the Northerns squad. Zimbabwe Cricket claimed that Chigumbura was still in Zimbabwe but could not play as he was injured. That same day, several English newspaper held reports that Chigumbura was playing for Eppleton cricket club in the district leagues. He was subsequently made captain.

Taylor had threatened to retire from Zimbabwe cricket if he was not granted leave. This was ongoing throughout the Faithwear series. Taylor, later believed to have received permission, flew to England to play for Lashings World XI.

Match results

Game 1: Centrals def. Southerns by 7 runs
Game 2: Westerns def. Northerns by 95 runs
Game 3: Easterns def. Southerns by 25 runs
Game 4: Northerns def. Centrals by 3 wickets
Game 5: Easterns def. Westerns by 9 wickets
Game 6: Northerns def. Southerns by 8 wickets
Game 7: Easterns def. Centrals by 79 runs (D/L)
Game 8: Westerns def. Southerns by 6 runs
Game 9: Centrals def. Westerns by 4 wickets
Game 10: Easterns def. Northerns by 92 runs

Points table:

    | #  Team                    Pl  W   L   Pts   Net RR    |
    | 1. Easterns                4   3   1   19    +1.792    |
    | 2. Centrals                4   2   2   12    -0.229    |
    | 3. Northerns               4   2   2   11    -0.297    |
    | 4. Westerns                4   2   2   8     -0.292    |
    | 5. Southerns               4   1   3   7     -0.482    |


Northerns: RW Chakabva, T Chimbambo, AG Cremer, TN Garwe, AM Manyumwa, P Masvaure, A Mlambo, S Mwakayeni, RW Price, I Senzere, T Taibu, A Tichana, PM Tsvanhi, C Zhuwawo.

Southerns: G Banda, P Charumbira, CJ Chibhabha, J Chinyengetere, R Chinyengetere, IM Chinyoka, TS Chisoro, T Hove, T Kamungozi, T Machiri, T Mashonganyika, H Matanga, A Mutumbami, R Mutambami, C Rizhibowa.

Easterns: G Aliseni, A Maparura, T Maruma, J Marumisa, H Masakadza, SW Masakadza, S Matsika, S Matsikenyeri, B Mlambo, S Mujaji, S Musoso, F Mutizwa, SK Nyamuzinga, P Utseya.

Westerns: KM Dabengwa, MM Dube, RT Kasawaya, MM Mabuza, T Midhiri, TM Mboyi, KO Meth, CB Mpofu, B Mujuru, T Mupariwa, T Ngulube, B Staddon.

Centrals: BM Chapungu, E Chauluka, MT Chinouya, SP Gupo, F Kasteni, T Mahlunge, T Mandizha, A Mavhiko, SF Mire, B Mugochi, T Muzarabani, L Ndlovu, R Nyathi, EC Rainsford, M Waller.