Below, is a brief timeline outlining significant events in the history of cricket in Rhodesia and Zimbabwe.

1890: The Pioneer Column played the first ever cricket match in Rhodesia, at Fort Victoria.

1891: Salisbury Cricket Club formed and metropolitan league formed.

1894: Bulawayo created a metropolitan league.

1895: The first of many Salisbury vs Bulawayo matches.

1897: Salisbury Sports Club created, which became Salisbury Cricket Club headquarters.

1899: Lord Hawke led the first English team to Rhodesia.

1900: The Vigne Cup, of the Salisbury metropolitan league, was contested for the first time.

1903: The Logan Cup, for inter-provincial matches, was contested for the first time.

1914-1918: World War I. Not a lot of cricket played.

1939-1945: World War II. Rhodesia was home to an RAF base, leading to a lot of unoffical cricket matches.

1946: Rhodesia played in the Currie Cup for the first time.

1960: Rhodesia played a match against an Australian eleven led by Richie Benaud.

1965: UDI declared by Ian Smith.

1970: Big name players like Garry Sobers and Mike Procter play cricket in Rhodesia

1979: Rhodesia's last season in the Currie Cup.

1980: Robert Mugabe elected president, Rhodesia gained full independence and became known as Zimbabwe.

1981: Associate status granted by the ICC.

1982: Salisbury renamed Harare. Salisbury Sports Club became Harare Sports Club.

1983: Zimbabwe defeated Australia in a World Cup ODI match.

1992: Zimbabwe granted full member status by the ICC, allowing them to play Test matches.

1994: Zimbabwe defeated Pakistan at Harare Sports Club, their first Test win.

1995: Henry Olonga was Zimbabwe's first black Test cricketer.

2004: Heath Streak sacked as Zimbabwe captain leading to a player strike.

2004: Tatenda Taibu becomes Zimbabwe's first black captain.

2006: Mark Vermeulen burns down the Harare Sports Club boardroom and the Zimbabwe Cricket Academy (Country Club) facilities.

2007: Electrical faults cause the Bulawayo Athletic Club bar and billiard room to burn down.

2007: Zimbabwe defeated Australia in a World Cup Twenty20 match, their first win against a team ranked higher than Bangladesh since 2003.