2007-08 National League update

Posted by brmtaylor.com admin on November 13, 2007

The National League has taken a new direction, seemingly as of November 10 and 11. To prepare its players for resumption of Test matches, Zimbabwe Cricket has taken the initiative to reformat its National League matches. Instead of being a limited overs match (50 overs, it used to be) the games now extend over two days - Saturday and Sunday, and teams can play up to 2 innings.

November 10-11 saw the entire international contingent take part in the National League, including star players such as Elton Chigumbura (Takashinga) and Graeme Cremer (Old Hararians). Ray Price (Old Hararians) made his club cricket return this week. Ray Price also played for Old Hararians in the 2006-07 National League season, sparking interest amongst the community that he may have been interested in an international return ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 in the West Indies.

This weeks matches saw Harare Sports Club host Kwekwe Sports Club, Takashinga take on Bulawayo Athletic Club and Old Hararians play Mutare Sports Club. The international players starred, with Gary Brent top scoring for HSC with 63, while Price chipped in with in unbeaten 53. Declaring at 226, only Remembrance Nyathi put up a fight, with 33 not out. Keegan Meth made a return to the local scene, with 5/19, while Price took 3 wickets in Kwekwe's second innings. HSC won by an innings and 97 runs.

Takashinga comfortably beat the boys from Bulawayo, with Hamilton Masakadza leading the way with 105 not out. Elton Chigumbura took 5 wickets in BAC's first innings, while Timycen Maruma took 5-fer in the second. Maruma and Tafadzwa Kamungozi opened the batting for Takashinga in the second innings, and scored the 16 runs required for victory.

At Old Hararians Sports Club, the home team batted first and declared at 221. Vermeulen was all class, and took 3 wickets to help dismiss Mutare Sports Club for 89. In OH's second innings, Vermeulen smashed 71. Mutare made 160 in their second innings, but this was not enough to win the match.

Brmtaylor.com has tried to make available listings of each clubs squad for the 2007-08 National League season. Unfortunately, as Zimbabwe Cricket has not provided any official listings, it is impossible to post complete and accurate squad listings. For the most up-to-date and accurate squad listings, please visit http://www.brmtaylor.com/club_players.html. Please email any corrections or additions to the email address at the bottom of this page.

Takashinga (combined squad list of both Takashinga 1 and Takashinga 2)
Elton Chigumbura, Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Tatenda Taibu, Eric Chauluka, Tendai Chisoro, Douglas Hondo, Stewart Matsika, Tendai Machiri, Taurai Muzarabani, Brian Sanyika, Sammy Mwakayeni, Trevor Garwe, Alaster Maregwede, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Johnson Marumisa, Timycen Maruma, Prosper Utseya

Bulawayo Athletic Club
Sean Williams, Matthew Williams, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tafadzwa Ngulube, John Nyumbu

Kadoma Sports Club
Edward Rainsford

Old Hararians
Vusi Sibanda, Craig Ervine, Ryan Ervine, Mark Vermeulen, Piet Rinke, Prosper Utseya, Ryan Butterworth, Alex Mlambo, Tafadzwa Mufambisi, Victor Chaitezvi, H. Harineki, E. Rioga, Mohammad Sad Khan, Nyasha Chari

Harare Sports Club
Brendan Taylor, Gary Brent, David Mutendera, Mark Mbofana, Tendayi Mashonganyika, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Raymond Price, Graeme Cremer, Keegan Meth

Alexandra Sports Club
Taurai Matikwa

Kwekwe Sports Club
Simbarashe Gupo, Washington Nzira, Alexander Mavhiko, Remembrance Nyathi

Old Malvernians
Cephas Zhuwawo, Kelvin Gwesere, T. Mukoki

Royal Cricket Club
Solomon Mire, Alois Tichana, Friday Kasteni, Admire Manyumwa, Steven Nyamuzinga, Blessing Mahwire, Brian Sanyika

Queens Sports Club
Thabo Mboyi, Leroy James

Abraham Nare

Tendai Shereni

Adam Tom, Romeo Madziva

Matthew Tore

Mutare Sports Club
Silent Mujaji, Steady Musoso

Note: Prosper Utseya switched teams for the National League. During the PG Timbers Vigne Cup, Utseya played for Old Hararians (taking 4/28 in one match against Millennium). For the National League, Utseya switched to Takashinga.