This Week in Zimbabwe (#6)

Posted by admin on May 09, 2009

A big week in Zimbabwe cricket, with a lot happening at domestic level.

Easterns win the Logan Cup

The 2008-09 Logan Cup has come to a thrilling conclusion with Easterns beating Northerns by just 1 wicket in what was essentially the Grand Final - with both teams coming into the match equal first on points.

Unfortunately the scorecards have not been released yet, but we do know that the scores were as follows:

Northerns won the the toss and batted first. Northerns 1st innings 10/213. Easterns 1st innings 10/227. Northerns 2nd innings 10/166. Easterns 2nd innings 9/155. Easterns won by 1 wicket.

It is a disappointing ending for Northerns, who have been the most consistent team. Although credit to Easterns, whose batting has been very strong throughout the tournament, their bowling has improved a lot over the past 2 weeks - mainly thanks to Prosper Utseya coming into some fine form.

In the other match of round 6, Westerns drew with Centrals. The result ensures Westerns don't end the tournament with 6/6 losses, but they still end without a win.

Franchise system to replace the current domestic structure

More can be read about this at Essentially, the current domestic structure will be replaced - presumably with teams from Harare, Bulawayo, Mutare, Kwekwe and Masvingo - the 5 cities which ZC will be awarding the initial franchises to.

It will be the responsibility of each franchise to implement a viable business model, contract staff and players, and search for sponsors to draw in extra income. ZC will give an annual grant to each franchise.

Harare will play at Harare Sports Club, Bulawayo at Queens Sports Club, Mutare at Mutare Sports Club, Kwewke at Kwekwe Sports Club and Masvingo at Masvingo Sports Club.

Bulawayo to host domestic T20

Between May 13 and May 16 the domestic Twenty20 tournament (sponsored by Metropolitan Bank in previous years) will be held in Bulawayo - marking a return of top level domestic cricket to the city. Matches will be played at both Queens Sports Club and Bulawayo Athletic Club. Each venue will host 2 matches a day, the same format as in previous years.

The domestic T20 competition has been a good way to promote cricket throughout the country. The inaugural domestic T20 in 2006-07 was held in Mutare, while in 2007-08 Harare held the tournament.