Player of the year leads Zimbabwe to priceless victory

Posted by admin on January 20, 2009

After reeling at 6/44 chasing 125, 2008 player of the year, Ray Price, led Zimbabwe to an unexpected yet deserved victory over Bangladesh in the 1st ODI at Mirpur yesterday.

The Bangladeshi captains decision to bat first did not pay off, with the home side being dismissed for a paltry 124 thanks to an outstanding bowling performance by the Zimbabweans.

Ray Price was the standout bowler for Zimbabwe, taking a career best 4/22. Keith Dabengwa also impressed, with 3/15 - a career best for him as well. Ed Rainsford and Tawanda Mupariwa opened the bowling and were superb. Both bowled 8 overs, conceding just 12 and 13 runs respectively. Rainsford took the wicket of Junaid Siddique in the 7th over to put Bangladesh on the backfoot early on.

In reply, Zimbabwe faltered, losing Hamilton Masakadza for just 2. A couple of lucky boundaries saw Tatenda Taibu - promoted to number 2 in the absense of Vusi Sibanda - reach 14 before he was cleaned up by Mashrafe Mortaza. The rest of the top order failed, with Matsikenyeri, Williams and Chigumbura adding just 15 runs between them.

It was debutant Malcolm Waller who steadied the ship, grafting a 28 run partnership with Prosper Utseya. Waller departed with the score at 7/72 after scoring a vital 24 - what turned out to be Zimbabwe's top score. Utseya and Ray Price combined for a further 20 runs before Utseya (out for 21 from 75 deliveries) was caught pulling at a shot wide outside off stump.

Joined at the crease by Tawanda Mupariwa, Price and his new partner scored slowly but steadily without losing further wickets. Price was on strike for the final over of the innings, in which 6 runs was required for victory. Nazmul Hossain was trusted to bowl the final over, but Price struck the medium-fast bowler for two consecutive fours to clinch the match for Zimbabwe.

Price was named man of the match, and Zimbabwe lead the series 1-0.

Highlights of this match can be viewed on Youtube at